Register of Deeds
The Ionia County Register of Deeds office is receiving numerous inquiries regarding letters County residents are receiving which offer to provide a copy of the resident’s deed for fees as high as $89. Residents need to understand they can obtain a copy of their deed from the Register of Deeds office for a fee of $1.00 per page. Copies can be obtained by coming in to the office, by mail, or by visiting “Online Services” located on this website.
Recording Fee Change:
Effective October 1, 2016, recording fees for all documents will be $30.00, regardless of number of pages. Documents requiring tax certification will still need an additional $5 (see Tax Certificate Fee below). For a document that assigns or discharges more than one instrument, there is a fee of $3 for each instrument referenced, in addition to the $30.00 flat recording fee.
Tax Certificate Fee:
Effective July 1, 2015, the fee for a tax certification at the Treasurer’s Office increased from $1 to $5. This fee must be paid at the time of recording a Warranty Deed, Land Contract, Land Contract Assignment, or Condominium Master Deed. Recording packages that do not remit the correct fees will be rejected and returned to submitter.
Notice to Purchasers of Property from Fannie Mae/Freddie Mac:
If you purchased your home in the years 2012 or 2013 from Federal National Mortgage Association or Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation, you may be entitled to a refund of transfer taxes. To qualify for a refund, you must prove that you paid the transfer taxes. Your closing statement will show who paid the transfer tax and what the tax amount was. There are both State and County transfer taxes. Refunds for State tax must be obtained from the Michigan Treasury. The County portion can be obtained by contacting our office with proof of payment.
Electronic recording provides the opportunity to save time and money while supplying superior service to your clients and customers. On August 27, 2013, the Michigan Electronic Recording Commission adopted the Michigan eRecording Standards, effective January 1, 2014. Information regarding these standards can be found at the Michigan Department of Technology, Management & Budget website, www.michigan.gov/erc.
IONIA COUNTY’S eRECORDING BUSINESS RULES:
Documents are accepted and processed between the hours of 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday –Friday, excluding holidays observed by Ionia County.
Payments are accepted by ACH per agreements with eRecording vendors.
Parties submitting documents that violate Michigan eRecording Standards will have their ability to submit documents terminated until further notice.
Ionia County Register of Deeds reserves the right to reject any electronically submitted documents that do not comply with the Michigan Recording Act and other applicable laws.
Any amendments to these business rules will be published on this webpage 90 days prior to taking effect.
Ionia County Register of Deeds will only collect recording fees prescribed by state and local statutes. Additional processing fees may be collected by eRecording vendors.
Electronically recorded documents will be returned to the submitter in electronic format per the agreements with the eRecording vendors.
WE CURRENTLY ACCEPT DOCUMENTS FROM THE FOLLOWING VENDORS:
COPIES OF DOCUMENTS:
Our records date back to 1833, before Michigan achieved statehood. We can locate and copy most records within a matter of minutes. Indexes are searchable by name or legal description, not by address or parcel number. Records are stored in books, microfilm, and digital images. Nearly all records originally stored in books and on film have been digitized. Digital images are available through our PropertyInfo programming, either on the web or in the office, for all deed documents. We are currently working on indexing back records and have completed indexing back to January 1, 1988. Our goal is to have every document searchable and printable online.
$1.00 per page in office – cash or check only
$1.00 per page, plus $1 transaction fee if printed online – credit card only
$5.00 per document to certify a recorded document, beginning October 1, 2016
HOW TO OBTAIN A COPY:
Visit our office where you can either use our public computers or have us locate your document for you. Historic documents will likely require a search by our Mapping and Description department. It is helpful if you bring documentation such as a former deed or a tax notice that contains the legal description of the property.
Go to “Online Services” at the top of this page and click “Deed Search”. Click “Log In as Guest”, and then “Search Public Records”. Enter last name first, and choose if you want to see all documents or only certain documents in the drop down list. Then click “Search”. If you find the document you need, double click the blue Liber and Page numbers in the left-hand column. You will see our indexing information on the left side, and a thumbnail image on the right. We do not offer a full-size image on the web. You can choose to print, using a credit card to pay for the fees.
Mail, e-mail or fax
If you are unable to visit the office or use our web service, we can mail, e-mail or fax to you. We require payment in advance before we can send your documents. We accept cash or check only.
We sell Ionia County Plat Books for the Ionia 4-H Council. They are $25. If you need to have one mailed, please send us cash or check (made payable to Ionia County 4-H Council) in the amount of $28.50 (includes $3.50 for postage).
DEATH OF SPOUSE OR JOINT OWNER:
We are commonly asked how to get a deed “in my own name” upon the death of a spouse or joint owner. A certified copy of the death certificate must be recorded in every county where the decedent owned property. The surviving owner(s) will not get a new deed issued in their name. The original deed is still proof of ownership for the surviving owner(s).
In the early 1800’s, Ionia was a land patent office for a larger region than just Ionia County. We do not have land patents for properties in counties other than Ionia County. Click on “Land Patents” on our links page to obtain copies for property in other counties.