The District Court is a Trial Court of limited jurisdiction. The District Court has exclusive jurisdiction of the following types of cases:
  • All Civil Litigation (Small Claims) involving judgments up to $25,000
  • Garnishments
  • Landlord / Tenant Disputes and Eviction Proceedings
  • Land Contract Forfeitures
  • Adult Criminal Misdemeanor Offenses (punishable up to one year imprisonment)
  • Civil Infractions
  • Traffic Violations
  • Civil Marriage Ceremonies and other proceedings.

For criminal cases, the District Court conducts preliminary examinations in felony cases and handles all misdemeanors where punishment does not exceed one year in jail including arraignment, sentence, and setting and acceptance of bail.

A small claims division for certain civil claims is provided in the district court. Parties agree to waive their right to a jury, rules of evidence, representation by a lawyer, and the right to appeal the district judge’s decision. If either party objects, the case will be heard by the general civil division of the district court.

Presiding Judge & Magistrates

District judges are elected for six-year terms on non-partisan ballots, under the same requirements as circuit judges. The legislature sets their salaries.

Judge Raymond P. Voet
District Court Judge

District judges may appoint magistrates. The magistrates may set bail and accept bond in criminal matters; accept guilty pleas; sentence for traffic, motor carrier, and snowmobile violations and dog, game, and boat law violations; and issue arrest and search warrants. Attorney magistrates may hear small claims cases. Magistrates may, at the direction of the Chief Judge, perform other duties allowed by statute.

Ms. Kim Clark – Court Administrator / Magistrate
Phone: (616) 527-5344
Fax: (616) 527-5343

Mr. David J. Wirth – Magistrate
Phone: (616) 527-5344
Fax: (616) 527-5343

Zoom Numbers

  • Honorable Raymond P. Voet – 985-305-0099
  • Magistrate David Wirth – 660-503-4963
  • Court Administrator/Magistrate Kim Clark – 516-076-9631

No password required


Kelsi Guernsey – Court Recorder
Mary Miller – Bookkeeper
Angela Palmer- Supervisor

Traffic Division

Kim Sherrick
Stacy Nash
Deb Carpenter

Criminal Division

Jamie White
Deborah Porter

Civil Division

Renee Brown
Rachel Miller


Mandy Sanderson
Amber Richardson
Christina Sandborn

District Court

Judge Raymond P. Voet
District Court Judge

100 W Main St.
Ionia, MI 48846.

Traffic Division
Phone: (616) 527-5346
Fax: (616) 527-8249

Civil Division
Phone: (616) 527-5349
Fax: (616) 527-5343

Phone: (616) 527-5342
Fax: (616) 522-9404