What Does the Board of Commissioners Do?

The chief legislative and policy-making body of Ionia County government is the seven-member Board of Commissioners.

Commissioners are elected to two-year terms from districts that are roughly equal in population. A chair and vice-chair are elected at the Commissioners’ Organizational Meeting, which is the first meeting of each new year. There are seven commissioner districts.

Also at their Organizational Meeting, the Commissioners adopt the BOC Bylaws, that provide the framework under which the Board of Commissioners operate.

Now in Session…Board Meetings

Regular public meetings of the Board of Commissioners are scheduled at 3:00 p.m. on the second Tuesday of each month in the Board of Commissioners’ Meeting Room on the third floor of the Courthouse, and 7:00 p.m. on the fourth Tuesday of each month in the conference room at Ionia County Central Dispatch, 545 Apple Tree Drive, Ionia. Committee-of-the-Whole meetings are conducted on the third Tuesday of each month at 3:00 p.m. in the Board of Commissioners’ Meeting Room.

The Board welcomes area residents to express their ideas or concerns about issues affecting Ionia County during “Public Comment” which is on each meeting agenda. Speakers are requested to state their name and address, with individual comments being limited to three minutes or less.

Copies of the Board’s agenda and minutes are available by contacting the County Clerk’s office.

Ionia County Commissioners

District #1

David Hodges (R)
4833 Flat River Trail
Belding, MI 48809

District #2

Larry Tiejema (R)
1187 Hawley Hwy.
Saranac, MI 48881

District #3

James L. Banks (R)
602 Sixth Ave.
Lake Odessa, MI 48849
(616)374-8588 (h)
(616)374-0844 (w)

District #4

Brenda Cowling-Cronk (D)
426 E. Main St.
Ionia, MI 48846
(616) 527-6227

District #5

Scott Wirtz (R)
4280 N. State Road
Ionia, MI 48846

District #6

Jack Shattuck (R)
6055 Keefer Hwy.
Portland, MI 48875
(517) 256-2870 (c)

District #7

Georgia Sharp (R)
8009 Meadow Lane Dr.
Portland, MI 48875


100 West Main St
Ionia, MI 48846

(616) 527-5300

(616) 527-5380

Department Directory »

Staff Directory »