The Clerk’s office is open by appointment only. Customers can contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org or at 616-527-5322.
NOTICE: CPLs & COVID-19
The Ionia County Clerk’s Office will be issuing new CPL’s by appointment only. Renewal CPL’s can be renewed online. It is recommended to mail any documents or vital records requests to the County Clerk’s Office.
Packets, along with the application for a Concealed Pistol License (CPL), are available at the Ionia County Clerk’s office. Included in the packet is information on the laws relative to a CPL, as well as information on making an appointment for fingerprinting. Once the application is completed, it is filed at the Clerk’s office. The applicant must appear in person as the clerk’s office staff will administer an oath, and witness your signature. The fee is $100.00 for a first time license and a renewal of a license that has been expired more than one year. There is a $15.00 fee for fingerprinting, which is paid to the agency doing the printing. The fee is $115.00 to renew a license; no additional fingerprints are needed.
A training certificate must also be submitted with an application for a new license, and must contain:
- The wording, “This course complies with section 5j of 1927 PA 372.”
- The date of the training.
- Printed name and signature of the course instructor. No stamp or photo copy of the instructor’s name.
- The instructor’s name and telephone number.
- The name and telephone number of the state agency or state or national firearms training organization that has certified the individual as an instructor.
- Instructor certification number.
- Expiration date of instructor certification, if any.
A training certificate expires after five years.
The process for reapplying for a license after a previous license was expired for more than one year, is the same as for a new license.
It is recommended that you familiarize yourself with the laws governing concealed pistols and the requirements for applying for a concealed pistol license. The Concealed Pistol License laws can be found by visiting The Michigan State Police website.
- Concealed Pistol License Guide and Application
NOTICE: All new Concealed Pistol License applications must be signed in front of a staff person in the Clerk’s Office.
Public Act 381 of 2000 requires the following information be provided to obtain a Concealed Pistol License. A complete copy of this law is available at your local library or The Michigan State Police website.
- 21 years of age or older
- Citizen of the United States of America or a Legal Resident Alien
- Resident of Michigan for at least 6 months
- Successful completion of a Pistol Safety Training Course
- Not subject to an Order or Disposition for any of the following: a Mental Health Order, Legally Incapacitated, Involuntary hospitalization, found guilty by reason of insanity
- Not subject to a conditional bond release where firearm possession is prohibited
- Not subject to a Personal Protection Order
- Not prohibited by MCL 750.224 (f) [felon in possession of a firearm]
- Has never been convicted of a felony in Michigan or elsewhere
- Has no felony charge pending in Michigan or elsewhere
- Has not been dishonorably discharged from the United States Armed Forces
- Has not been convicted of one of the following misdemeanors in the 8 years immediately preceding the date of application and a charge for a misdemeanor violation of any of the following is not pending against the applicant in this state or elsewhere at the time of application:
- Failing to stop when involved in a personal injury accident – MCL 257.617a
- Operating while intoxicated, 2nd offense – MCL 257.625(9)(b)
- Operating a commercial motor vehicle with alcohol content, second offense – MCL 257.625m(4)
- Reckless driving – MCL 257.626
- Operating while license suspended or revoked, 2nd or subsequent offense – MCL 257.904(1)
- Operating an aircraft while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or a controlled substance with prior conviction – MCL 259.185
- Hindering or obstructing weights and measures enforcement officer – MCL 290.629
- Hindering, obstructing, assaulting, or committing bodily inquiry upon director or authorized representative of the Motor Quality Fuels Act – MCL 290.650
- Operating a vessel under the influence of intoxicating liquor or a controlled substance, punishable as a 2nd or subsequent offense – MCL 324.80177(1)(b)
- Operative an off-road vehicle (ORV) under the influence of intoxicating liquor or a controlled substance, punishable as a 2nd or subsequent offense – MCL 324.81134(8)(b)
- Operating a snowmobile under the influence of intoxicating liquor or a controlled substance, 2nd offense –324.82128(1)(b)
- Possession of a controlled substance, controlled substance analogue, or prescription form – MCL 333.7403
- Operating a locomotive under the influence of intoxicating liquor or a controlled substance, or while visibly impaired, punishable as a 2nd offense – 462.353(4)
- Displaying sexually explicit materials to minors – MCL 722.677
- Assault or domestic assault – MCL 750.81
- Aggravated assault, or aggravated domestic assault – MCL 750.81(a)(1) or (2)
- Breaking and entering, or entering without breaking – MCL 750.115
- Fourth degree child abuse – MCL 750.136b
- Vulnerable adult abuse – MCL 750.145n
- Solicitation to commit a felony – MCL 750.157(b)(3)(b)
- Impersonating a peace officer or medical examiner – MCL 750.215
- Illegal sale of a firearm or ammunition – MCL 750.223
- Illegal use or sale of a self-defense spray – MCL 750.224d
- Sale or possession of a switchblade – MCL 750.226a
- Improper transportation of a loaded firearm – MCL 750.227c
- Failure to have a pistol inspected – MCL 750.228
- Accepting a pistol in pawn – MCL 750.229
- Improperly obtaining a pistol, making a false statement on an application to purchase a pistol, or using false identification to purchase a pistol – MCL 750.232a
- Intentionally aiming a firearm w/o malice – MCL 750.233
- Intentionally discharging a firearm aimed without malice – MCL 750.234
- Possessing a firearm on prohibited premises – MCL 750.234d
- Brandishing a firearm in public – MCL 750.234e
- Possession of a firearm by a person less than 18 years of age – MCL 750.234f
- Intentionally discharging a firearm pointed or aimed intentionally without malice causing injury – MCL 750.235
- Parent of a minor who possessed a firearm in a weapon free school zone – MCL 750.235a
- Setting a spring gun or other device – MCL 750.236
- Possessing a firearm while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or a controlled substance– MCL 750.237
- Weapon free school zone violation – MCL 750.237a
- Indecent exposure – MCL750.335a
- Stalking – MCL 750.411h
- Fourth degree criminal sexual conduct – MCL 50.520e
- Reckless, careless, or negligent use of a firearm resulting in injury or death – MCL 752.861
- Reckless, careless, or negligent use of a firearm resulting in property damage – MCL 752.862
- Reckless discharge of a firearm – MCL 752.863(a)
- Violation of a law of the United States, another state, or a local unit of government of this state or another state substantially corresponding to the above misdemeanors.
- Has not been convicted of one of the following misdemeanors in the 3 years immediately preceding the date of application, unless the misdemeanor violation is listed above and a charge for a misdemeanor violation of any of the following is not pending against the applicant in this state or elsewhere at the time of application:
- Operating under the influence – MCL 257.625
- Refusal of commercial vehicle operator to submit to a chemical test – MCL 257.625a
- Ignition interlock device reporting violation – MCL 257.625k
- Circumventing an ignition interlock device – MCL 257.625l
- Operating a commercial vehicle with alcohol content – MCL 257.625m(3)
- Operating aircraft under the influence – MCL 259.185
- Operating ORV under the influence or operating ORV while visibly impaired – MCL 324.81134
- Operating a snowmobile under the influence – MCL 324.82127
- Controlled substance violation – MCL 333.7401 to 333.7461
- Operating locomotive under the influence – MCL 462.353(3)
- Disorderly person – MCL 750.167
- Embezzlement – MCL 750.174
- False pretenses with intent to defraud – MCL 750.218
- Larceny – MCL 750.356
- Second degree retail fraud – MCL 750.356d
- Larceny from a vacant building or structure – MCL 750.359
- Larceny by conversion – MCL 750.362
- Larceny – defrauding lessor – MCL 750.362a
- Malicious destruction of property – MCL 750.377a
- Malicious destruction of real property – MCL 750.380
- Receiving or concealing stolen property – MCL 750.535
- Malicious use of telecommunications service or device – MCL 750.540e
- A violation of a law of the United States, another state, or a local unit of government of this state or another state substantially corresponding to the above misdemeanors
- Based solely on the report received from the department of state police, the applicant has not been found guilty but mentally ill of any crime and has not offered a plea of guilty of, or been acquitted of, any crime by reason of insanity.
- Based solely on the report received from the department of state police, the applicant is not currently and has never been subject to an order of involuntary commitment in an inpatient or outpatient setting due to mental illness.
- The applicant has filed a statement on the application that the applicant does not have a diagnosis of mental illness that includes an assessment that the individual presents a danger to himself or herself or to another at the time the application is made, regardless of whether he or she is receiving treatment for that illness.
- Based solely on the report from the department of state police, the applicant is not under a court order of legal incapacity in this state or elsewhere.
- Renewing a Concealed Pistol License
- If a CPL is to expire within six months or has expired less than one year ago, you can renew either at the county clerk’s office or on-line at www.michigan.gov/firearms, if you have received a pin number. If you apply for a renewal prior to the expiration of your current license, the renewal license will be effective on the expiration date of the previous license and will be valid for the full five years. The cost of the renewal is $115.00.
- Submit a completed application for a Concealed Pistol License (unsigned). Blank applications are available at the county clerk’s office.
- Application fee of $115.
- Additional Information
- Method of payments accepted: cash, check, money order or credit card.
- Applicant only needs to bring in a photo, if they do not have a Michigan driver license or State of Michigan Identification Card, (military person permanently stationed in Michigan).
- After the application has been filed, new applicants must have their fingerprints taken within 45 days of the filing of the application. Appointments can be made at the Ionia County Sheriff’s Department by calling: 616-527-5737. (NOTE: The application must be filed first before fingerprints can be taken). If the applicant fails to get fingerprinted within the 45 days following the filing of the application, the application will automatically be withdrawn. However, the application is valid for one year, and will re-activate if the applicant is fingerprinted within that year. If more than one year has elapsed, a new application must be filed. The filing fee is non-refundable.
- Once the application is approved, the license will be mailed directly to the licensee.
- If the application is denied, the applicant will be notified in writing.
- Concealed Pistol Licenses are valid for not less than 4 years and not more than 5 years and will expire on the applicant’s birthday.
- If a renewal application is approved prior to the expiration date of the current CPL, the renewal CPL will not take effect until the previous license expires.
- Please visit the The Michigan State Police website for information on prohibited premises.
- If an applicant qualifies for and desires the Pistol Free Exemption, proof must be presented to the county clerk’s office.